Adventures with Lisa, Frank & Daisy Dewdrop


Two Gates: A Poem
September 1, 2006, 3:56 pm
Filed under: Our Yard & Garden, Uncategorized

TWO GATES

There are two gates between the house and the road,
Two gates to open, two gates to close.
Two gates ‘round the horses, one on each side,
Two gates blocking my daily drive.

The inner gate’s held by a black bungee cord,
The outter’s propped open with a scrap piece of board.
Gate one is in the sunlight, gate two in the shade,
And often two horses will be in the way.

(And when the gate’s open, horses try to get through
So you have to hurry, before they do.)

I’ve opened and closed in the cold, wet and dry
Opened and closed as lightning flashed ‘cross the sky
I’ve opened and closed in sunshine, in rain,
When night was so dark my eyes had to strain.

And if I am running five minutes late,
I’m fifteen behind once I deal with the gates.
And if I forget something and have to go back,
I’ve dealt with six gates once I’m back on my track!

Open and close, open and close,
I get my hands wet, get mud on my clothes
Open! Close! Open! Twice a day – sometimes more!
Close! Open! Close! Also with the car door!

Two Gates! Two Gates! Not just one, count them, TWO!
Two gates in the way, and horse clods too!
Two Gates! Two Gates! They are racking my brain,
These two bloody gates will soon drive me INSANE!

There are two gates between the house and the road,
Two gates to open, two gates to close.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

